top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJanus Zate

Belle De Jour Quest Journal: A New Discovery


“We have to continually be jumping off cliffs and developing our wings on the way down.” - Kurt Vonnegut

This year, 2018, there have been great many discoveries. I have been exploring watercolor and calligraphy for over 2 years now but I was always out to learn what else I am capable of as an artist. My artworks have been painted on pads of watercolor papers, loose leaves and watercolor blocks. But I wanted a way to document my artworks in a more personal level. Something I can look back at as a sort of diary. Watercolor sketchbooks are great but my frugal self does not want to spend so much on sketchbooks with minimal pages to offer.

This is where I sought to try out travel journals and planners, and I feel like it is one of the best decisions I have every made!

I’ve tried out international brands and they work well for me, but being a Filipina, I also wanted brands that resonate with me as woman, a creative individual and also something that I can proudly use that celebrates my heritage and culture. Herein comes Belle De Jour.

I’ve seen BDJ planners whenever I visit the local bookstores here in the Philippines, and I have always admired the designs. They’re beautiful and very eye-catching, and the pages within always show artworks that would surely inspire. But sadly, at the time, I wasn’t much of a planner girl, up to now I think I am not there fully yet. I do have a planner that I write on; listing projects to work on, appointments and schedules, etc. but it looks incredibly awful. Filled with scribbles that even I, who wrote it, can barely read. I have bad handwriting, I kid you not. But I do enjoy painting, drawing, calligraphing and paper crafting on my journals. (Still I am hoping to explore more on planning by next year).

I was fortunate to be invited to attend the Belle De Jour 2019 Launch last Oct 20-21, 2018 (special thanks to my dear friend and fellow creative, Queen, of Tokyo Finds). I thought it would be a great time to see what new products they’re offering for next year.

Since I’m already into travel journals, I was interested in getting the travel size quest journal BDJ is already offering. But I was suddenly curious about the new size they released which was the medium Quest Journal, since I haven’t had a journal of that size, I decided to get one and try it out.

I’ve used the BDJ planner inserts before and I’ve always been happy with the quality of the paper. I can do light washes of watercolor on them without tearing the paper (buckling is inevitable because the inserts after all, are not watercolor papers). I also don’t have to worry about my pens’ ink seeping through the other side of the page, and the brush pens I use normally have minimal ghosting.

But what I am really after here is the journal cover. I like journals that I can show off aside from use. LOL. The design and finish of the journal cover is very sleek, simple yet elegant. I usually go for decorative and print-style covers but this was a refreshing sight! I really like the selection of colours they offer and I am planning to get another one [at a different color] once I’ve filled up my current one.

As you can see, I like decorating my journal with floral accents/toppers. I also like cutting my own paper for painting. I use a lot of hot press watercolor paper for my art nowadays. My decision to get the medium sized journal was done on impulse but as I started painting on my journal, I’m very happy I strayed off my planned purchase. I love how spacious the journal is, there’s so much room to work around with than I was accustomed to. It allows me to add more elements and just go crazy on crafting.

Oh, and FYI, the quest journals come in three sizes: travel, medium and mini. So if you’re thinking of getting yourself a journal that’s affordable and resonates the qualities I mentioned above, the Belle De Jour quest journals might just be for you.

PS. If you want to see more of my artworks, you can check out my Instagram, @jveruditeartist. If you like what you see please don't hesitate to follow! <3

XOXO,

Janus


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page