top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJanus Zate

2018: A Whirlwind Year


2018.

I don’t know where to begin to describe this year.

Honestly, it’s one of the toughest years I faced so far. Personal problems have gotten the best of me, and my health just wasn’t at its best. My husband and I were hoping to have another baby by the end of 2018 but unfortunately it didn’t happen. Maybe it’s because of all the stress we were going through, or maybe God thinks we’re not ready for another one just yet. Maybe when things finally settle we’ll be blessed with one once again. 2019, maybe?

2018 had been all kinds of crazy. But me being ever the optimist, I’ll talk about the good things that happened.

First things first, with my personal life, I am happy that my husband and daughter are in good health. We got to travel a lot together and while I know would vaguely remember all the places we went to, we have pictures and videos to show her in the future.

I think one of the biggest highlights for her was our trip to Disneyland.

Work-wise, it has been an eventful year! I had to hold a lot more workshops than I anticipated.

I am thankful to Isabe of the Yellow Violet House and the Kreatib Hub + Cafe family for letting me grace your stores with workshops.

I was honoured to be invited to several art events like Scribe’s MOMent, SM Stationery Art Fest, Fully Booked

Summer Art Buffet, and CalligrafriendsPH Inks and Colors 2 to name a few.

Another plus is that I got to also attend social events like the Make Your Own Havaianas 2018

and the Craft Central SM Megamall Grand Opening.

One of the biggest highlights for me was that I got to be part of Prima Marketing Inc’s My Prima Planner Design Team for 2018.

Never in my wildest dreams did I ever imagine that I’d be qualified to be a part of such a creative team. To be honest, it was intimidating at first. But then I remembered, I got in while creating the way I’ve always done, I should still stay true to my craft while also learning to grow and expand what I already know.

This is the year I focused a lot on handmade art, while in 2017, I focused on digital design. In 2019, I’m hoping I get to do a mix of both.

How about you? Looking back in 2018, what can you say about your experience?


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page